Hon. David Ramsay, Minister of Industry, NWT

Hon. David Ramsay, Minister of Industry, NWT

ramsayDavid Ramsay was born on March 18, 1970 in Saint John, New Brunswick.

Mr. Ramsay was first elected to the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories in the November 2003 Territorial election as the Member representing the riding of Kam Lake, located in Yellowknife.

During the 15th Legislative Assembly (2003-2007) he served as Deputy Chair of Committee of the Whole, as member of the Standing Committee on Governance and Economic Development, the Board of Management and the Standing Committee on Accountability and Oversight.

He was re-elected to the 16th Legislative Assembly in October 2007.  During this four year term he served as Chair of the Standing Committee on Economic Development and Infrastructure, as well as the Board of Management and the Standing Committee on Priorities and Planning.

Mr. Ramsay was re-elected to a third term in October 2011 to the 17th Legislative Assembly.  On October 21, 2011 he was sworn in as a Member of the Executive Council and appointed Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment and Minister of Transportation.

In November 2011 he was elected Vice President of the Pacific North West Economic Region.

On October 31, 2013, Mr. Ramsay was appointed the Minister of Justice and Attorney General for the Northwest Territories as well as the Minister Responsible for the Public Utilities Board.  He also remains the Minister responsible for Industry, Tourism and Investment.

Minister Ramsay attended the University of New Brunswick where he received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and History, specializing in Aboriginal Law and Self Government. Mr. Ramsay is a fellow of the 21st Century Trust/Salzburg Institute.

Mr. Ramsay’s prior political experience includes five years as a Yellowknife City Councilor, where he chaired the Corporate Services Committee and was the City Council representative on the Diamond Task Force.  He also served as a Western Arctic Progressive Conservative Riding Association President from 1998-2003.